skip to Main Content

AMOS has five expert groups covering a range of topics across the AMOS sciences.

The roles of Expert Groups include:

  • Propose and chair special sessions at AMOS conferences
  • Take the lead, or assist Council, in the authoring of submissions to relevant inquiries or reviews (see here)
  • The creation of relevant AMOS position or policy statements as required (see here)
  • Organize discipline-specific workshops or meetings
  • Provide advice to Council on relevant topics as required

If you would like to join an AMOS expert group, get in contact with the Chair or admin@amos.org.au. Alternately, if you think there is a need for an additional Expert Group, you can apply to Council following the AMOS rules.

Climate Variability

The Climate Variability Expert Group has a wide range of expertise in research, monitoring and prediction of climate variability, including both atmosphere and ocean processes. The group includes scientists from CSIRO, the Bureau of Meteorology and Universities with interests in all aspects of climate variability and change.

Membership:

Josephine Brown (Chair)
Steve Crimp
Alex Sen Gupta
Andrew Watkins
Eun Pa Lim
Will Hobbs
Harun Rashid
Lynette Bettio

UniMelb
ANU
UNSW
BoM
BoM
UTas
CSIRO
BoM

Contact: 

Josephine Brown
Email: josephine.brown@unimelb.edu.au

Weather and Weather Prediction

Weather forecasts are generally made on a computer. The forecast process, called numerical weather prediction (NWP), approximates and solves the governing laws of physics for discrete points in space and time on a spatial grid covering the Earth. The Expert Group on Weather and Weather Prediction (EGWWP) is interested in all aspects of weather prediction, but especially the prediction of Australian weather.

The EGWWP is also interested in how physical processes are represented in NWP. Weather on scales close to or smaller than the grid spacing must be parameterized, meaning that representations of the physics on the unresolved scales must be added to the model. These physical processes include solar and infrared radiation, cloud evolution, and microphysical process (responsible for the production and dissipation of cloud liquid water droplets and ice crystals). Much of the predictive skill of the computer models hinges on how well the unresolved physics is represented by the parameterizations.

Making a weather forecast requires a detailed knowledge of the current state of the atmosphere (e.g., wind, temperature, pressure), land surface and ocean; this is known as the analysis. The main sources of input data for numerical weather forecasts are radiosondes (weather balloons) and satellites, as well as commercial aircraft, floating buoys, ships, radars and automatically recording weather stations. The analysis blends the observations with spatially complete short-term computer model forecasts for the current time, taking into account estimates of their respective errors. This process of estimating the current state is known as data assimilation, and it is one of the most important reasons for the great improvement in the predictive skill in recent years. Analysis and data

Membership and Contact:

Michael Reeder (Chair)
Beth Ebert
Terry Hart
Dean Narramore
Liz Ritchie-Tyo
Claire Vincent

Monash
BoM
Ex-BoM
BoM
ADFA UNSW
UniMelb

michael.reeder@monash.edu
E.Ebert@bom.gov.au
terryhart27@hotmail.com
dean.narramore@bom.gov.au
E.Ritchie@adfa.edu.au
claire.vincent@unimelb.edu.au

Physical Oceanography

The AMOS Expert Group on Physical Oceanography focusses on the sub-discipline of Physical Oceanography. Physical Oceanography is defined as the study of the physics of the ocean. It encompasses a broad range of properties, motions and processes, such as temperature, salinity and density, turbulence, surface and internal waves, tsunamis, tides, ocean circulation and their relationship to biogeochemical cycles. The relevant time scales of variability range from seconds (e.g. turbulence) to decades and beyond (climate variability and change).

Current members of the group are drawn from a number of Universities, CSIRO, AIMS and the Bureau of Meteorology. Specific areas of expertise include global and regional sea-level, global and regional ocean dynamics and circulation, interactions with the cryosphere (sea-ice and ice sheets), ocean mixing, the carbon cycle and the ocean’s role in climate, wind-waves, tsunamis and coastal processes. Other areas of expertise include model development, data assimilation, remote and in situ ocean observations and observing systems. Members also have interests in a number of inter-disciplinary areas and applications, such as interactions with marine biological systems, sediment transport, coral bleaching, air-sea interaction

Membership and Contact:

Diana Greenslade (Chair)
John Church
Bernadette Sloyan
Andy Hogg
Laurie Menviel
Ryan Lowe
Craig Steinberg
Jochen Kaempf
Moninya Roughan

BoM
UNSW
CSIRO
ANU
UNSW
UWA
AIMS
Flinders
UNSW

Contact email: admin@amos.org.au

Land Surface Processes

The Land Surface Processes Expert Group focuses on water, energy and carbon cycle processes occurring near the land surface that influence climate. The areas of expertise and research interests include evaporation, transpiration, soil infiltration, soil moisture transport including groundwater, surface hydrology, the reflection and absorption of radiation, surface heating, carbon fixation and release. Processes involving coupling between the land, atmosphere and vegetation are within scope, as are particular considerations of urban and other built environments and the coastal zone.

Membership and Contact:

Jatin Kala (Chair)
Jason Evans
Andy Pitman
Jason Beringer
Seth Westra
Danielle Verdon-Kidd
Russell Crosbie
Rachel Law
Luigi Renzullo
Anna Ukkola

Murdoch
UNSW
UNSW
UWA
Adelaide
Newcastle
CSIRO
CSIRO
ANU
UNSW

J.Kala@murdoch.edu.au
jason.evans@unsw.edu.au
a.pitman@unsw.edu.au
jason.beringer@uwa.edu.au
seth.westra@adelaide.edu.au
danielle.verdon@newcastle.edu.au
Russell.Crosbie@csiro.au
Rachel.Law@csiro.au
luigi.renzullo@anu.edu.au
a.ukkola@unsw.edu.au

Atmospheric and Oceanic Composition

Coming soon

Chair: Robyn Schofield (UniMelb)

Back To Top
×Close search
Search