skip to Main Content

Christopher Taylor Award

Biennial award for operational frontline services and related investigations

Christopher Taylor was a Bureau of Meteorology analyst and weather forecaster from the mid-70s until his untimely death at age 35 in July 1988. He had a natural curiosity in, and an enthusiasm and energy for investigating observed weather phenomena and operational forecasting problems, which was largely carried out in his own time. In the spirit of Christopher Taylor’s efforts, this award recognises operational frontline scientists who have either commenced or performed a substantial part of their investigative work, or other contribution to operational services, whilst in operationally focused roles and constrained to a significant extent by real-time duties. Those whose normal role is to support operations either through investigations or the development of operational tools may also be nominated, but this context will be taken into account by the Committee.

The Christopher Taylor Award is given every odd year, alternating with the Gibbs Medal.


The award carries a prize of $1000. There is also a perpetual plaque held for the year by the appropriate office.


The award is open to professional scientists in disciplines represented by AMOS for contributions of all kinds to operational frontline services and supporting activities in Australia, with an emphasis on those who are constrained by real-time duties.

Nomination process

Nominations may be made by AMOS members or others, especially senior staff and colleagues of the Bureau of Meteorology who will be familiar with the work of their operational staff. The nomination package must include:

  • A nomination letter of no more than 2 pages addressing the selection criteria
  • An accompanying brief CV of the nominee of no more than 2 pages
  • Up to three letters of support addressing the selection criteria, each no longer than 2 pages

The total maximum length of the nomination package should not exceed 10 pages. Nominations should not include separate publication lists or copies of published papers. Nominators should be aware of the AMOS Code of Conduct, which promotes diversity of membership and discipline when making nominations. The Award Sub-Committee has limited ability to seek additional information and therefore nomination documents must be complete and provide a full and fair account of each candidate.

Selection criteria

  1. Evidence of a substantial contribution to operations either through investigations or the development of operational tools.
  2. Evidence of innovation and a keen interest in operational work which has led to the solving of at least one operational problem.
  3. Evidence of the development of an operational procedure which has resulted in a demonstrable improvement in the quality of services, either in the quality of routine forecasts, or through improvements to service provision.
  4. Some evidence of service to the promotion of the AMOS mission. Examples include a period of service on AMOS Council as a Member or Office Bearer, service on and promotion of AMOS through Centre Committees and Centre activities, contribution to AMOS activities including organisation of the National Conferences, editorial support for the Society’s journal, preparation of AMOS position papers for public or political dissemination or outreach, etc.

All criteria should be addressed in the nominations.


Award sub-committee

Beth Ebert (Interim Chair)
Callum Stuart
Gab Woodhouse
Andrew Watkins

1994 – Geoff Feren, Victorian Regional Office
1995 – Russell Stringer, Northern Territory Regional Office
1996 – Milton Speer, New South Wales Regional Office
1997 – David Thomas, Northern Territory Regional Office
1998 – John Bally, Tasmanian Regional Office
1999 – Robert Leighton, National Meteorological and Oceanographic Centre
2000 – Greg Connor, Queensland Regional Office
2001 – Phil Davill, South Australia Regional Office
2002 – Stephen Pendlebury, Tasmanian/Antarctica Regional Office
2003 – Roger Deslandes, Bureau of Meteorology Training Centre
2004 – Neil Adams, Tasmanian/Antartica Regional Office
2005 – Graeme King, Northern Territory Regional Office
2006 – Peter Newham, Victorian Regional Office
2007 – Grant Elliott, Western Australia Regional Office
2008 – Jeff Callaghan, Queensland Regional Office
2009 – Anthony Leggett, National Meteorological and Oceanographic Centre
2010 – Matthew Collopy, South Australian Regional Office
2011 – Rabi Rivett, Western Australian Regional Office
2012 – Noel Davidson, CAWCR
2013 – Andrew Burton, Western Australian Regional Office
2015 – Dean Sgarbossa, Victorian Regional Office
2017 – Callum Stuart, Western Australian Regional Office
2019 – Rob Taggart, New South Wales Regional Office
2023 – Jim Fraser, Bureau of Meteorology

Back To Top