skip to Main Content

Zillman Medal

Biennial award aimed at scientists in their mature years who have made a long and substantial learned research contribution in Australia

Dr John William Zillman AO FAA FTSE made many distinguished contributions to Australian and international meteorology and science over an extended period. The Zillman Medal, formerly known as the Distinguished Research Award, is intended to give recognition to the fact that learned societies will never flourish without the dedicated effort of a significant number of its members who contribute willingly and over time to the Society’s goals. Accordingly, recognition of a long and substantial learned research contribution together with a record of contribution to the Society through the promotion of its aims is the intention of this award.

Read more about John Zillman.

The Zillman Medal is given every odd year.


The award comprises a medal.


The nominee should be a mature aged scientist who has carried out most of his or her research in Australia.

Nomination process

Any AMOS scientist may make a nomination. The nomination package must include:

  • A nomination letter of no more than 2 pages addressing the selection criteria
  • An accompanying brief CV of the nominee of no more than 2 pages
  • Up to three letters of support addressing the selection criteria, each no longer than 2 pages

The total maximum length of the nomination package should not exceed 10 pages. Nominations should not include separate publication lists or copies of published papers. Nominators should be aware of the AMOS Code of Conduct, which promotes diversity of membership and discipline when making nominations. The Award Sub-Committee has limited ability to seek additional information and therefore nomination documents must be complete and provide a full and fair account of each candidate.

Selection criteria

Nominees for this Medal will be assessed on their research record over their entire career, rather than for a single specific research contribution.

  1. Evidence of a substantial contribution to scholarship through long term achievement in research carried out mainly in Australia.
  2. Innovative and transformative achievements in research over a nominee’s entire career which have made a substantial contribution to the understanding of sciences relevant to the Society, and in the scholarly published literature.
  3. Evidence of service to the promotion of the AMOS mission. Examples include a period of service on AMOS Council as a Member or Office Bearer, service on and promotion of AMOS through Centre Committees and Centre activities, contribution to AMOS activities including organisation of the National Conferences, editorial support for the Society’s journal, preparation of AMOS position papers for public or political dissemination or outreach, etc.

Equal weight is given to each of the selection criteria.


2015 – Michael Reeder
2019 – Neville Nicholls
2021 – Scott Power
2023 – Harry Hendon

Award sub-committee

Julie Arblaster (Chair)
Sonya Fiddes
Andy Pitman
Richard Matear

Back To Top