skip to Main Content

Meyers Medal

formerly the AMOS Early Career Research Award

Description and history

The Meyers Medal commemorates the profound contributions of Dr Gary Meyers to oceanographic and climate research of the tropical Pacific and Indian Oceans, and to the establishment of key collaborative projects between Australian and international agencies. Dr Gary Albert Meyers (1941-2016) was a highly respected leader of scientists. He was instrumental in building an internationally relevant research presence in the Southern Hemisphere while helping to generate a foundation capability in tropical climate dynamics for Australia in ocean research. Gary’s primary research interests were baroclinic Rossby waves, the variability of the Indian Ocean and its relationship to the El Nino Southern Oscillation, the Indonesian throughflow, and the design of observing networks. His strong advocacy and commitment saw the establishment of key networks around Australia gifting us with 30-year records that most nations envy. As leader of CSIRO’s Oceans and Climate Program from 1997-2003 and in collaboration with the Bureau of Meteorology, he initiated development of the national model (POAMA) to predict seasonal climate in Australia. Gary’s legacy has bolstered recognition of Australia as a critical contributor to the understanding of climate processes, a deep insight into constructing the necessary observation systems that would give and give for decades to come, and a dedication to science that would reward future students of the discipline of oceanography. He was a gracious and generous mentor and science leader, and his universal kindness and sense of justice was evident in his every interaction.

The Meyers Medal is an award for early-career research in Australia. This award is to acknowledge high-quality and innovative contributions by young researchers in the early stages of their academic career to the sciences covered by AMOS. The awardee should have demonstrated success as part of a research higher degree (PhD or Masters by research), as well as a record of high-quality research in the period after completing formal university training. This award will normally be given to scientists no older than 32 years old, but this age limit may be modified to take into account career interruptions. This age criterion is intended to preclude someone from being eligible who completed a PhD later in life and who had a “flying start” through a long period of successful research in the atmospheric sciences and oceanography prior to completing the PhD. Such individuals are eligible for other AMOS awards. The Meyers Medal comprises a medal and a cash component that will be adjusted in value from time to time.


2014 – Sophie Lewis, Australian National University
2016 – Sarah Perkins Kirkpatrick, University of New South Wales
2018 – Adele Morrison, Australian National University

Nominations and eligibility

Any scientist may make a nomination. The nomination must address the selection criteria below, include a CV, and no more than three letters of reference that also address the selection criteria. Nominators should be aware of the AMOS Code of Conduct, which promotes diversity of membership and discipline when making nominations. The Awards Sub-Committee has limited ability to seek additional information and therefore nomination documents must be complete and provide a full and fair account of each candidate. At the time of nomination the nominee normally should be no older than 32 years of age, but career changes and interruptions (e.g., parental responsibilities, serious illness etc.) will be taken into account when considering eligibility. Equal weight will be given to all of the Selection Criteria. This Award will be given every even year. See the main Awards page for other eligibility requirements, and further details about nominations including length of the nomination package.

Selection Criteria

The awardee should:

  1. at the time of nomination, hold a research degree from a university at MSc or PhD level;
  2. have a CV that reflects that significant research productivity was achieved during the supervised higher degree program;
  3. have a CV that reflects particularly well on a short but productive post-PhD period at an Australian institution where ideally some level of individual initiative is evident in the direction of the research and the achievement of goals; and
  4. be acknowledged and endorsed by referees for the energetic research effort, enthusiasm for the field and professional / ethical conduct; and
  5. have provided service to the promotion of the AMOS mission, e.g. through membership on committees, office bearer etc.

Selection Panel

Tom Beer (Chair)
Milton Speer
Sophie Lewis
Adele Morrison

Back To Top
×Close search