skip to Main Content

Uwe Radok Award

Annual award for best PhD thesis

Dr Uwe Radok was one of Australia’s pioneers in meteorological and glaciological research. In appreciation of Uwe Radok’s achievements, AMOS makes an annual award for the best PhD thesis for the previous year in the fields of meteorology, oceanography, glaciology or climatology awarded in Australia.

Read more about Uwe Radok


The award comprises:

  • Invited oral presentation at the next AMOS Conference
  • Award presentation at the next AMOS Conference
  • $1000 prize money
  • Waiver of registration fee for next AMOS Conference
  • Publication of summary paper in the AMOS Bulletin


In light of difficulties created by the COVID-19 pandemic in preparing nominations during 2021, nominations for PhD theses completed in 2020 will also be accepted in this round of the Uwe Radok award, accompanied by a statement outlining why the nomination was not made in 2021. Only new nominations will be accepted.

To be eligible for consideration for this year’s Uwe Radok Award, individuals must have been awarded their PhD (i.e., a final decision made by the awarding university, but not necessarily have graduated) between 1 Jan 2020 and 31 Dec 2021. The degree must have been awarded by an Australian University.

Nomination process

Candidates are invited to submit:

  1. The completed application form (download the application form)
  2. A short scientific paper (no more than two pages including figures and references) summarising the key outcomes of their research
  3. A .pdf version of the PhD thesis
  4. Full copies of the examiners’ reports.
  5. A letter from the academic supervisor or Head of School which outlines why the PhD is considered outstanding (including a synopsis of any relevant comments from the examiners) and which indicates the extent to which the high quality of the thesis is due to the student’s own effort and innovation rather than to the supervisor(s).

The application package should be emailed to (subject: Uwe Radok award) by May 31.

Selection criteria

Submissions will be thoroughly reviewed by an AMOS scientific panel according to the criteria of:

  1. significance and innovation;
  2. approach, methodology and presentation; and
  3. potential longer-term benefit.

The academic supervisor may provide a brief statement stating any special effort made by a student from a non-English speaking background.

Recipients (by year of PhD completion)

2007 – Gab Abramowitz, Macquarie University
2008 – Alex Sen Gupta, University of New South Wales
2009 – Caroline Ummenhofer, University of New South Wales
2010 – Jan Zika, University of New South Wales
2011 – Savin Chand, University of Melbourne
2012 – Joel Pedro, University of Tasmania, and, Paul Durack, University of Tasmania
2013 – Yi Huang, Monash University
2014 – Adele Morrison, Australian National University
2015 – Tim Cowan, University of New South Wales
2016 – Nicola Maher, University of New South Wales
2017 – Catherine Vreugdenhil, Australian National University
2018 – Ariaan Purich, University of New South Wales
2019 – Alessandro Silvano, University of Tasmania and CSIRO
2020 – Jiawei Bao, University of New South Wales
2021 – Josué Martínez Moreno, Australian National University

Award sub-committee

Melissa Hart (Chair)
Steve Siems
Robyn Schofield
Alex Sen Gupta

Back To Top