skip to Main Content

AMOS Regional Award for Academic Achievement

Annual award for excellence in undergraduate study

The AMOS Regional Award for Academic Achievement is given each year for excellence in undergraduate study towards a degree with a substantial component of atmospheric science, climatology or oceanography.

One award for each Regional Centre is to be awarded each year.


The winner of the award in each state will receive the $250 plus one year’s membership of AMOS.     The state winners will also be announced at the official dinner at the AMOS Annual Conference.

The winner in each state may also be invited to give a presentation at a Regional Centre meeting. This would normally only apply if the winner is an honours or Masters student and would not be appropriate for second and third year students.


The award would normally be given for academic results obtained during the second year, third year, honours or Masters by coursework. Those students completing a degree by research (e.g. PhD or Masters by research) are not eligible.

Nomination process

Students can be nominated by any AMOS member or Fellow who is also an academic at an Australian university and is a lecturer or more senior. The nomination should include:

  • A statement of academic results achieved to date
  • Any other evidence of excellence in academic achievement

Short nominations (one page) should be submitted to the Awards Sub-Committee in each Regional Centre and must be received by 31st December. This committee will select the winner by 1st February the next year.

Selection criteria

The criterion for the award is excellence in student undergraduate results.

Back To Top