skip to Main Content

AMOS Awards – Call for Nominations

Nominations are now open for the Meyers Medal, Morton Medal, Gibbs Medal, and the Science Outreach Award

Nominations close 1 September 2024

Please consider nominating a colleague for one of these awards, which recognise excellence in the AMOS fields. The four awards recognise: 

  • Meyers Medal: High-quality and innovative contributions by young researchers in the early stages of their academic career to the sciences covered by AMOS.
  • Morton MedalLeadership in meteorology and/or oceanography and/or related fields, with particular emphasis on education and development of young scientists, and personal example in research.
  • Gibbs Medal: Long-term contribution to operational forecasting services.
  • Science Outreach Award: Engagement with the public, politicians, schools, businesses and communities, to educate and inform those groups on topics associated with AMOS themes.

What needs to be included in a nomination package for all of these awards:

  • A nomination letter of no more than 2 pages addressing the selection criteria for the specific award (these criteria are available on the specific Award webpages).
  • An accompanying brief CV of the nominee of no more than 2 pages.
  • A maximum of 3 letters of support, each no longer than 2 pages.
  • For the Meyers Medal only, an optional career interruption statement of maximum 200 words, including but not limited to parental leave, caring responsibilities, non-research positions, sick leave and part time employment.
  • No publication list or copies of published papers are to be included in the nomination package.
  • Total maximum length of nomination package: 10 pages.

Only AMOS members can nominate someone for an AMOS award. 

Nominations should be forwarded to the AMOS Awards Committee chair at 

Please see the AMOS Award web pages at for selection criteria and further details of the awards and the nomination process.

Beth Ebert 
Chair, AMOS Awards Committee

Back To Top