skip to Main Content

Uwe Radok Award for Best PhD Thesis 2023 – Entries close 30 June 2024

Dr Uwe Radok was one of Australia’s pioneers in meteorological and glaciological research. Becoming Head of the Department of Meteorology at the University of Melbourne in 1960, he played a leading role in the development of Australian Antarctic meteorology and glaciology. A meltwater lake in the Prince Charles Mountains in Antarctica has been named the Radok Lake after him.

In appreciation of Uwe Radok’s achievements, AMOS makes an annual award for the best PhD thesis for the preceding two years in the fields of meteorology, oceanography, glaciology or climatology awarded in Australia. (Read more)

The Uwe Radok Award package
– Invited oral presentation at the next AMOS Conference
– Award presentation at the next AMOS Conference
– $1000 prize money
– Waiver of registration fee for next AMOS Conference
– Publication of summary paper in AMOS Bulletin


To be eligible for consideration for this round, individuals must have been awarded their PhD (i.e., a final decision made by the awarding university, but not necessarily have graduated) between 1 Jan 2023 and 31 Dec 2023. 

Application instructions

Candidates are required to submit:
1. The completed application form (download the application form)
2. A short scientific paper (no more than two pages including figures and references) summarising the key outcomes of their research
3. A pdf version of the PhD thesis
4. Full copies of the examiners’ reports.
5. A letter from the academic supervisor or Head of School which outlines why the PhD is considered outstanding (including a synopsis of any relevant comments from the examiners) and which indicates the extent to which the high quality of the thesis is due to the student’s own effort and innovation rather than to the supervisor(s).

Selection criteria

Submissions will be thoroughly reviewed by an AMOS scientific panel under the criteria of:
a) significance and innovation;
b) approach, methodology and presentation; and
c) potential longer-term benefit.
The academic supervisor may provide a brief statement stating any special effort made by a student from a non-English speaking background.
Note only PhDs awarded in calendar 2023 are eligible for the award this year (2024).
Download the application form and email by 30 June 2024

Back To Top