Awards, Honours and Grants

Awards, Honours and grants available through AMOS:


The Society awards the following medals and prizes: 

Morton Medal (formerly AMOS Medal) - biennial award recognising leadership in meteorology and/or oceanography and/or related fields, with particular emphasis on education and development of young scientists, and personal example in research.

Priestley Medal - biennial award for excellence in meteorological or oceanographic research.

Christopher Taylor Award - biennial award for operational forecasting and related investigations.

Uwe Radok PhD Thesis Award - annual award for the best PhD thesis for the preceding year in the fields of meteorology, oceanography, glaciology or climatology.

R.H. Clarke Lecture - annual invited review lecture by an expert in an aspect of meteorology or other related subjects.

AMOS Regional Awards for Academic Achievement - annual awards made in conjunction with AMOS Regional Centres and Universities to the best undergraduate student in their final year in the fields of meteorology, oceanography or related fields.

The Meyers Medal (formerly the AMOS Early Career Research Award) - biennial award to acknowledge high-quality and innovative contributions by young researchers in the early stages of their academic career to the sciences covered by AMOS.   

Gibbs Medal – biennial award for long-term contribution to operational forecasting services.

AMOS Distinguished Research Award - biennial award aimed at scientists in their mature years who have carried out most of their research in Australia in recognition of a long and substantial learned research contribution together with a record of contribution to the Society through the promotion of its aims. 

AMOS Science Outreach Award - annual award that recognises AMOS outreach ambassadors who inspire other AMOS members to undertake science engagement activities. This award additionally recognises those who engage with the public, politicians, schools, businesses and communities, to educate and inform those groups on topics associated with AMOS themes.

AMOS National Conference Awards - best student oral presentation and best student poster presentation - annual awards made in conjunction with the AMOS National Conference.

Awards nomination process

  • Nominations for the Morton Medal, the AMOS Early Career Research Award and the Gibbs Medal open on the 1 June and close on the 1 September every even year. 
  • Nominations for the Priestley Medal, the Christopher Taylor Award and the AMOS Distinguished Research Award open on the 1 June and close on the 1 September every odd year.  
  • The following persons are not eligible for any of the awards; the President, the vice President and the chair of the Awards Committee.  Also all members of the 2014 Awards Committee are not eligible for the three newest awards, that is the AMOS Early Career Research Award, the Gibbs Medal and the AMOS Distinguished Research Award until 2018.  In addition the chair of the selection committee for each award is not eligible for that award.  
  • Nominations should be forwarded to the AMOS Administrative Officer at

Contents of a nomination package for all AMOS awards other than the Uwe Radok Award:

  • A nomination letter of no more than 2 pages. This letter should address the selection criteria for the specific award (these criteria are available on the specific Award webpages)
  • An accompanying brief CV of the nominee of no more than 2 pages.
  • A maximum of 3 letters of support, each no longer than 2 pages.
  • No publication list is to be included in the nomination package.
  • No copies of published papers are to be included in the nomination package.
  • Total maximum length of nomination package: 10 pages.





Small monetary grants can be made from the R.H. Clarke Endowment to members or groups of members to help finance meteorological projects for which adequate funds are not otherwise available, or to assist with the attendance of younger members at conferences.


For further information on these aspects of the society's activities please contact the Chair of the Awards Committee:

Neville Nicholls 
Chair, AMOS Awards Committee