Christopher Taylor Award

Description and history

Christopher Taylor was a Bureau of Meteorology analyst and forecaster from the mid-70s until his untimely death at age 35 in July 1988. He had a natural curiosity in, and an enthusiasm and energy for investigating observed weather phenomena and operational forecasting problems, which was largely carried out in his own time.

The Award carries a prize of $500 very generously provided by his former wife Jacqueline Healy, and is open to professional meteorologists for contributions of all kinds to operational forecasting and supporting activities in Australia. In the spirit of Christopher Taylor’s efforts, the Awards Committee will give extra weight to nominations for operational meteorologists who have either commenced or performed a substantial part of their investigative work, or other contribution to operational forecasting, outside of normal duties.

Meteorologists who’s normal role is to support operations either through investigations or the development of operational tools may also be nominated, however a case should be made that the contribution has exceeded the normal expectations of a person working in that position. It should be noted that achievements of a more academic nature are recognised through other AMOS awards. There is also a perpetual plaque held for the year by the appropriate Regional or other office.

Nominations may be made by AMOS members or others, especially senior staff and colleagues of the Bureau of Meteorology who will be familiar with the work of their regional operational staff.


Anyone who is familiar with the work of the nominee may make a nomination.  The nomination must address the selection criteria below, include a CV, and no more than three letters of reference that also address the selection criteria.  Nominators should be aware of the AMOS Code of Conduct, which promotes diversity of membership and discipline when making nominations. The Awards Sub-Committee has limited ability to seek additional information and therefore nomination documents must be complete and provide a full and fair account of each candidate. 


(i)        Equal weight will be given to all of the Selection Criteria. (ii)       This Award will be given every odd year.
See the main Awards page for other eligibility requirements.

Selection criteria

  1. Evidence of a substantial contribution to operations either through investigations or the development of operational tools,
  2. Evidence of innovation and a keen interest in operational work which has led to the solving of at least one operational forecasting problem,
  3. Evidence of the development of an operational procedure which has resulted in a demonstrable improvement in the quality of forecasting, either in the quality of routine day to day forecasts, or through improvements to the forecasting of severe weather events,
  4. A contribution to AMOS through working on committees, participating in the organisation of conferences etc.


1994  Geoff Feren - Victoria Regional Office
1995  Russell Stringer - Northern Territory Regional Office
1996  Milton Speer - New South Wales Regional Office
1997  David Thomas - Northern Territory Regional Office
1998  John Bally - Tasmanian Regional Office
1999  Robert Leighton - NMOC
2000  Greg Connor - Queensland Regional Office
2001  Phil Davill - South Australia Regional Office
2002  Stephen Pendlebury - Tasmanian/Antarctica
2003  Roger Deslandes - Bureau of Meteorology Training Centre
2004  Neil Adams - Tasmanian/Antartica
2005  Graeme King - Northern Territory Regional Office
2006  Peter Newham - Victorian Regional Office
2007  Grant Elliott - Western Australia Regional Office
2008  Jeff Callaghan - Queensland Regional Office
2009  Anthony Leggett - National Meteorological and Oceanographic Centre
2010  Matthew Collopy - South Australian Regional Office
2011  Rabi Rivett - Western Australian Regional Office
2012  Noel Davidson - CAWCR
2013  Andrew Burton - Bureau of Meteorology
2015  Dean Sgarbossa - Bureau of Meteorology (Victoria)
2017  Callum Stuart

Sub-Committee - Christopher Taylor Award

Andrew Tupper (Chair)
Dean Sgarabosa
Beth Ebert

Awards Committee Contact

Neville Nicholls
Chair, AMOS Awards Committee